starting with a specific model for kinematical analysis

Dear all,

I’m a complete beginner in modelling with the anybody system. I’m exploring the system and have already completed the tutorials. I builded a model for an arm and thorax based on the building blocks tutorial. Now I want to include markers in order to be able to use kinematical data (arm movements).
I’m experiencing some problems and I have to questions:

1. How can I define markers when the human model I use is in the general model repositry? (I took a look at the specific models with enclosed markers, but these seem to complex to understand and adapt at this moment)

2. I created c3d files based on kinematical measurements we already did before. In these files there are more markers than I need to drive the model. Is there a way to exclude these markers and still use the already existing files? Or should the c3d files only exist of the specific marker set which is necessary for the specific application in the model?

I hope someone can answer these questions or provide me with some suggestions to proceed!

Many thanks in advance!

Hi Frederik,

A marker on the body is basically an AnyRefNode with its sRel to control its position on the segment. You can define the node and a driver between it and the floating marker.

However i think it is much better to use the template of the existing repository model, GaitFullBody would be the one in your case i think. In the ModelSetup.any file you just have to change the name of your c3d file and the list of the marker names. It does not matter if you have more markers than necesary, just don’t include them in the list of names if you don’t want them.
A little below is a folder for each body marker you want to include. You can simply update their name and location on the bone (with the sRel menber). You can also create new ones on the same template.

Then you are ready to run the optimization and inverse dynamic.

Best regards, Sylvain.

Sylvain,