Read C3D file without modeling

Hello, I am a student and I am currently using AnyBody Modeling System. I have a C3D file obtained with a dataglove, and I'm wondering if I can read this file and analyze its data without having to model the hand.

Thank you

Hi,

Welcome to the AnyScript Forum!

This is definitely possible. If you don't want to include the human model, then you can simply make a main file and use AnyInputC3D class to read the c3d file.

Main = {
  AnyInputC3D readC3D = {
    FileName = "....c3d";
  };
};

This will allow you to load and see the contents of the c3d file in AnyBody and you would be able to plot some of the outputs (like marker trajectories) in the ChartView.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Dave

Hello,

Thank you very much for your response.

I used the AnyInputC3D class but encountered an error message: "ERROR(OBJ.FILE1): MyHandModel.main.any(3): FileName: Problem with file: VMG.C3D: Failed to open the specified C3D file. Model loading skipped."

This means that the C3D file "VMG.C3D" could not be opened correctly during the model loading process.

Sincerely,

Djoher

Hi Djoher,

One reason this can happen is that the c3d file cannot be located. This could simply be because the file is located in another directory. I can see from the error message that the variable FileName is specified in your main file. Can you please confirm if your c3d file is located in the same folder as your main file? Can you please also share the code that you have written for FileName? It is also possible to specify another directory through the variable FileName. So it may be that the file in the same directory as the main file but the code specifies to look for the file in another directory.

Best regards,
Dave

Hello,
Thank you for your previous response that helped me visualize my data successfully. I have another question: can I use a full body model to perform an ergonomic analysis of the hand with my C3D data from the data glove?