2D model: Computation of resultant hip force

Hi everybody,

I’m a novice at Anybody and would really appreciate someone’s help.

I went through the tutorials to get an overview, but yet do not know how to start exactly.

Well, I would like to compute the resultant hip force “R”, composed of the weight force “G5”, which can be simplified as a simple force acting on the center of gravity, and a resultant of all muscle forces “M” balancing the pelvis on the femoral head (please see attachment). The line of action of the resultant of muscle forces originates at a point somewhere at the pelvis and is inserted at the trochanter major, it can be simplified as a “simple muscle”.

The model can be simplified as a 2D model standing on one leg. S6 (please see attachment) should always meet the vertical line going through the ankle joint.

I would like to simulate three different postures of the pelvis: a) horizontal, b) inclination of 10 degrees and c) declination of 10 degrees (also please see attachment).

I know there is already a body model “PelvisRightLeg” existing in the Repository and I went through the application “KneeLoad” as it’s a similiar task I guess, but even though I couldn’t get started with my project…
It’s not so easy haven’t done anything with this software.

As I said, I would be really glad about someone’s help.

Thanks in advance,
Steffi

Hi Steffi,

The KneeLoad application can be a good starting point. However in this application a moving force is applied on the feet and as i understand you only want static postures loaded by gravity.
So you will have to remove the force and applied a ground support as can be found in the StandingModel application.

An other solution is to start directly from the StandingModel and remove the non-used body parts (left leg, arms) as the application use a full body model.