Define Pathological Spinal Curvature for Scoliosis Model

Hallo everybody,
I am a new AnyBody user and want to use the Programm for my masters thesis about scoliosis.
I have an idea what I want to simulate, but because I have never used AnyBody before I would like to know if its possible to do what I have in mind. So it would be really great if you can tell me if my idea can work out or not.

For my Thesis I want to design a mechanical trunk model, whose spine curvature can be manipulated.
Because its very hard to include and validate all muscles, ligemanents etc. I want to simulated the predefined pathological spine curvature in AnyBody and see how the body parts, such as ribs and shoulders reacts to the applied pathology curve.
As a simulation output I just want to get he final position of the bony structure (shoulders, ribs etc.) to implement it in my mechanical model.

So I would like to use the HumanStanding model and individualize it for my purpose.
I am thinking about the following steps:

1. I would like to change the STL files of the vertebras with STL files of the vertebras I use in my mechanical model
  2. For creating a defined pathology I would like to displace each vertebra lateral/medial and anterior/posterior and also define the rotation and tilt for each vertebra.
  3. I will run a simulation to see how the ribcage, shoulders, etc. react due to the new pathological spine curvature and export the final position (for example by landmarks).

I would be so glad if you can help me!

Best
Viktoria

Dear Viktoria,

If i understand correct you want to create a kinematic model of the spine and somehow transfer this model onto your mechanical setup. When you talk about body reacting to the pathology - it could mean a lot of things. Do you need muscle and joint forces to describe body reaction or something else?