Driving full body model using markers

Hi;
I’m going to drive human model by my kinematic data. To find the procedure, I studied “GaitVaughan.any” file. But I can’t understand some points. I use ARMMRV1.0. Give me hints, please:
1- Why do you apply a reaction force between pelvis and ground? There is no real constraint between them. How do you explain it?
AnyReacForce PelvisGroundReaction={
AnyKinLinear Lin={
AnyFixedRefFrame &ref1 =…GlobalRef;
AnySeg &ref2 = Main.Model.HumanModel.Trunk.SegmentsLumbar.PelvisSeg;
};

AnyKinRotational Rot={
    AnyFixedRefFrame &ref1 =..GlobalRef;
    AnySeg &ref2 = Main.Model.HumanModel.Trunk.SegmentsLumbar.PelvisSeg;
    Type=RotVector;
  };
};

2- What’s the mathematical and physical interpretation of these lines?
AnyReacForce AnkleInversionEversionReaction ={

AnyKinMeasureOrg &ref1=  Main.HumanModel.BodyModel.Interface.Right.AnkleEversion;
AnyKinMeasureOrg &ref2=   Main.HumanModel.BodyModel.Interface.Left.AnkleEversion;

};

3- My last question is about driving DOFs. We know hip joint supplies 3DOFs and we need 3 parameters to define its motion, but you use just one marker to drive thigh!! Which is x component of p5 for right and left leg.

Help me please.
Thanks.

Hi Majed,

A gait model with no upper body is missing more than half of the natural body weight, so the load from gravity and inertia forces would not nearly provide the correct loads on the lower extremities. Instead, such a model relies on the measured ground reaction forces. They are applied under the feet and are larger than the gravity on the amputated model. Therefore, the reaction force on the pelvis balances the part of the ground reaction forces that is not cancelled out by the segment masses of the lower extremities. In other words, the reaction force corresponds to the gravity and inertia forces from the missing upper body. Of course this only works correctly if we have measured ground reaction forces.