Falling and Slipping

Hi everybody,

Im starting a project and the general idea is to modulate a human fall/slip. I really need to know if it is possible to modulate it with anybody. If its possible, i can use tracking technology to duplicate the movement or do i have to create it ? I intend to use a full body model.
As you can see, im new at anybody community :).

With the best regards,
Marco

Hi Marco,

Welcome to the forum,

In relation to slip fall analysis the following notes should be made: AnyBody uses inverse dynamics so motion is input to the model. So you need to measure the slip motion, you will also need to measure the GRF. There are no activation dynamics in AnyBody, so in the analysis it will be possible to activate a muscle instantly whereas in reality when the slip occurs the muscle may not have time to react as they will do in the model. This may impact the results depending on the speed of the slip etc…

If you look in the reference list there is a paper related to forces in the lower spine in relation to slip please see:
Rashedi, E., Jia, B., Nussbaum, M.A. & Lockhart, T.E. (2012), “Investigating the effects of slipping on lumbar muscle activity, kinematics, and kinetics”, Human Factors and Ergonomics Society 56th Annual Meeting. [DOI]

Please ask again if you have further questions,

Best regards
Søren

Hi Søren,

Thank for your quick reply.

I’m going to use xsens to gather the movement information as well ass all data as acelaration, velociti and position.
I intend to get the bones reaction forces, muscle reaction forces and muscle activations are secundsry, but if I can get all the information better.

One more time thanks for you quick reply, and I will give some feedback.

With best regards,
Marco Marques.

Hi,

I’m trying to create a methodology in order to create the model using the MoCap template, and i have a serious question.