Initial Position Definition for FDK Models

Dear AnyBody-team,
I am a student at the University of Rostock, currently working with FDK models on the lower extremity. I Would like to ask how it is possible to define an initial position or certain joint angles for a chain of segments which are connected by joints including FDK degrees of freedom? Is it possible do define it without using a driver?
I was looking into the posture model of the AMMR-documentation in the THA-KneeBendDemo. Especially in the Sub-Files „Mannequin.any“ and „InitialPositionPelvis.any“ the folder „Posture“ is used to define the position. I do not understand how the variables are connected and used in the rest of the model. Do you have any tips for me on how to progress?
Thank you in advance for your support
Greta

1 Like

Hi Greta,

For clarity, I want to make a distinction between load-time position and initial position. Load-time position is the position in which the model loads and initial position is the position for the first time-step. Initial position is obtained after solving kinematics (e.g., joints, drivers, etc.). Whereas, load-time positions are determined purely from the r0 and Axes0 values of the segments. So, for your chain of segments, you can define the r0 and Axes0 values in the script. You can also make the r0 and Axes0 values to be dependent on the r0 and Axes0 values of other segments in the chain. That is, the model can calculate the r0 and Axes0 values from the root segment and the joint angles.

This is the approach that is also used in the initial position of the human model. Try to open some segment and see how its r0 and Axes0 values are defined in the script.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Dave

1 Like

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your prompt and helpful response. I was able to easily specify the initial positions using "r0" and "Axes0" in a model that performs inverse kinematic analysis, obtaining its movement from an interpolation driver.