MoCap Model-Neck posture

Hello
I am studying the MoCap Model to simulate neck protraction. Protraction is attained by anterior translation of head and putting the chin fully forward. But it seems that the neck in the model is different from what we observed in Vicon system. Both of head and neck are less forward in the model compared to Vicon. Is it possible to simulate neck protraction with MoCap Model?

did you switch to the detailed neck model?

#define UseDetailNeckModel 0

Dear Amir

Thanks for your reply!

I did use the detailed neck model. But the head markers in blue are far away from the red ones. They do not match very well. Is it possible to simulate this extreme neck posture?

there is also a switch in the TrialSpecific to use the head markers or not. Did you check this?

Dear Amir

Thanks for your reply!!

I did also use the head markers. But they still do not match well.

can you upload the model to the debug section?

Hi Amir

I uploaded my model to the debug section.

Hoping for your reply.

Hi Amir

I noticed interesting results: Sternomastoid muscle force was 0 and sternomastoid muscle activity was 0 in neck flexion, neurtal or protraction position. It should not be like that.

I am wondering why this important muscle did not generate force, even using the detailed neck model.

Do any other muscle have an activation instead?

Hi Amir

Anterior neck muscle, like longus colli and longus capitis, do have activation.

So the model predicts that it is more efficient to use those muscles instead.

Dear Amir

But a webcast from YouTube, named “A detailed rigid-body cervical spine model based on inverse dynamics”, shows the sternomastoid muscle activity during cervical flexion is 0.8 and the value is not small.

That’s why I doubt my result which showed sternomastoid muscle activity and force were zero.

Hi Anybody

I used MoCap-detailed neck model to simulate several head-neck position.