Modelling knock knees or bowlegs?

Hi,

I am new to AnyBody system and I would like to run a gait analysis of a model with knee misalignment. Is there any way I can rotate the knee joint inward/outward to represent knock knees/bowlegs? Which leg models allow this adjustment?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

If you see the structure of our human model then you can find that these two AnyRefNode objects are used for the definition of the knee joint:
Main.HumanModel.BodyModel.Right.Leg.Seg.Thigh.KneeJoint
Main.HumanModel.BodyModel.Right.Leg.Seg.Shank.KneeJoint

So if you can adjust the orientation( ARel property) of these objects then the knee joint can be rotated.

Best regards,
Moonki

Hi Moonki,

Thanks for your reply! I have another question if you don`t mind.
It seems that modifying these two objects changes the orientation and position of the knee joint by changing the shank portion only, while the thigh bone stays in place.
I want to change the knee angle by changing the position of the distal femur. How can I do this?

Hi,

I’m not sure but also you can change the ‘Main.HumanModel.BodyModel.Right.Leg.Seg.Thigh.Knee Joint’ object.

Then you may be able to change the location and the orientation of this ‘KneeJoint’ node in the Thigh segment.

Best regards,
Moonki

Dear all

I have a question concerning this thread:

If I change the orientation of the segments Thigh and Shank in the GaitFullbody model for example, is it then possible to use the same c3d file?

In other words could I simply change the geometries of the bones and use the same c3d data? Because I didn’t perfom any motion caption, for example!!!

thanks in advance for your answers

Arnaud

Hi Arnaud,

This is in principle possible, but the results may not be the best.