Muscle Recruitment Solver error: solver aborted after maximum number of iterations

Hi,

I am trying to run an inverse dynamics analysis of treadmill-walking data collected using an IMU-based Mocap suit. I have the .bvh file, and have been modifying the BVH_Xsens demo as a starting place. I am new to full-body modeling, and am encountering some errors. I managed to get the model through the kinematic analysis, but it fails about 7 steps into the Inverse Dynamics Study due to an error with the muscle recruitment solver.

Also, I have my own experimental force-plate data in .txt format, how can I use that instead of the force place prediction that’s currently in the model?

I uploaded a zip folder with my project. Thank you in advance for the help!

Hi Evanazoulay,

I have tried to run the model and looked at the way the GRF are created, it looks ok.

In general GRF prediction only works is the motion is recorded realistically, this means that if the CoM of the model has unrealistic accelerations it will lead to muscle recruitment problems, simply because the model is about to tip over. These accelerations are necessarily visible but they may result in that model can not be balanced by the GRF predictions. You can look at the residual forces in the hip to get an idea it is also possible to increase the strength if the residual muscles which are working like a safety net in the model, they are weak so the model will try not to use them if possible, by increasing the strength of these (weakresiduals.any) it is likely to be able to handle more out of balance situations, but the problem is that with a higher strength the muscles will also kick in when not needed.

There are two paths of solutions:

[ol]