Squat Model - Moving Arms

Hi all,

I am a mechanical engineering student investigating the effects of altering squat stance for a barbell squat. I am using the squat model and am unsure how to move the arms into a position to hold the barbell, with the forearms perpendicular to the ground. Does anyone know an easy way to do this? Many thanks

Hi @stchloe - and welcome to the forum!

The squat model have a Mannequin.any file where you can alter the load position of the arms.
It also have a RightArmArmDrivers.any and a LeftArmDrivers.any file that specify what the arms do during the simulation - it defaults to just keeping the posture defined in the mannequin file.

If you haven't seen our tutorials here is a link:
https://anyscript.org/tutorials/index.html

I would suggest to complete number 2, 3 and 11 - that should give some ideas and example of most of what you need.

Best regards,
Bjørn

Hi Bjorn,

Thanks for the reply. I have managed to alter the elbows and wrists but for some reason cannot alter the sternoclavicular protraction, rotation or elevation. These seem to be controlled by a clavicular rhythm but I cannot find how to turn this off so that I can input the values I want.

Hi @stchloe

Those degree of freedom are part of the shoulder rhythm and you need to disable the BM_ARM_SHOULDER_RHYTHM which you can find in the BodyModelConfiguration.any file.

Best regards,
Bjørn

Hi Bjorn,

This is extremely helpful, thank you very much!

Another issue I seem to have encountered is that my libdef.any file has corrupted and I cannot find the correct original version required to run the model.

Do you happen to know where I can download this individual file without having to download the entire AMMR again?

Many thanks,
Chloe

Hi @stchloe

You should be able to find a complete version of your AMMR in the AnyBody install directory.