squat model

Hi,

I am trying to create a squat model using the data from the examples in the tutorial. The model seems to be loading fine but when I tried to run it, it says that it is kinematically indeterminate

WARNING(OBJ.MCH.KIN1) : C:/U…s/atiq/A…1/A…1/A…n/E…s/n…l/newmodel.Main.any : Study : Model is kinematically indeterminate : Position analysis failed : 3 unsolvable constraint(s) found
WARNING(OBJ.MCH.KIN1) : C:/U…s/atiq/A…1/A…1/A…n/E…s/n…l/newmodel.Main.any : Study : Model is kinematically indeterminate : Position analysis failed : 81 independent constraints and 84 unknowns

Can I know which driver and constraint that needed to be add or subtract since I am still new to AnyBody software. Or, the problem comes from a different factor?

Thank you.

Hi,

Welcome to this forum.

To make your own squat models and for your easy understanding,
I would recommend you to use ‘FreePostureMove’ example in the repository.
This will be a good template for your next model development.

In the ‘JointsAndDrivers.any’ file of the example you can see all necessary kinematic drivers.

If you comment out this ‘JointsAndDrivers.any’ file then you can see that there are 42 degrees of freedom in the human model.

As you know, there is very simple principle in the AnyBody Modeling System.
Number of DOFs(Degrees of freedom) = Number of Constraints(including joints, constraints and drivers)

In this FreePostureMove example, all human joints have their own individual drivers.

When you consider to make your own squat model, then you have to remove or modify some existing drivers.

When we think the squat movement, we may assume that the motion of upper body joints will not change much.

You may have to add or modify some more constraints:
-> Modify the drivers of upper body joints as constant
-> Add some drivers to make both of feet to contact to the ground
-> Modify knee drivers to follow the knee flex motion