How to add external load in AnyMocap framework?

Dear AnyBody experts/staffs/community,

I am a novice in AMS and now trying to simulate motions recorded by Xsens (bvh file) using AnyMoCap framework.

The pre-cooked framework worked well when I simulated motions without load, but when I want to simulate some motions with external load (e.g., the subject is carrying a 10 kg box during bending motion), it’s difficult for me to write some codes and add them in the right place to conduct the analysis.

I searched some relevant examples (e.g., standlifting examples) in AMMR but still can not understand, especially the complex connection between human model and environment model. I found some similar problems when I was writing this post but didn’t get clear answers from previous replies.

So how can I achieve it? Or do you have some good examples or materials to share with our community members about this kind of research purposes?

Great thanks for your efforts and reply in advance!

Sincerely Yours,
Tracy

Hi Tracy,

You can define an AnyForce3D object acting on, say, a node on the hand segment. You can define a force acting in the coordinate system of the node, or in global. In case of the box it should be a global force equal to m*g. You may want to split it in half and use 2 AnyForce3D objects for both hands. This is the easiest way to define an external load.

It is also possible to add an actual box object. But it becomes a little more complex. An example is shown in AMMR/Application/Examples/StandingLift. Please see how the object is defined in the Environment.any and how the connection to the human is defined in the JointsAndDrivers.any. You are welcome to copy this code.

Kind regards,
Pavel

Dear Pavel,

Thanks for your kind reply and suggestion first. I tried the first method you mentioned here (AnyForce3D) and meet two questions. Hope to get your further help.