Manbible model

Hi,
I am new to AnyBody. I am interested in the musculoskeletal model of the mandible (its movement, muscle forces, TMJ forces, etc.). I have the AnyBody 4.0.1.626, that means I have the Model Repository V1.0 (if I understand it right). In this repository I haven’t find the mandible model. Somewhere I have read that the mandible model is in Repository 7, that means, which version of Anybody do I need?

Thank you
Michala

[edit] I found the repository page on the Internet (http://forge.anyscript.org/gf/) and the mandible model as well. Sorry for the post, but it was not clear in the beginning that the repository is online and does not go only with the instalation.

Hi,
This is more a reaction on one old post
http://forum.anyscript.org/showthread.php?t=2147&highlight=mandible

I am aware of the fact that these posts are quite old. But anyway, I have a question – the model there was driven just by one point (movement of the mandible governed by the movement of the incisor point) – isn’t that to little? What about the rotations? Also the medio-lateral movement was set to zero. So in the end is the mandible rotating or not? Is the mandible model in the Repository 1.5 better (I don’t have yet the skills to explore the files)?

Michala

Hi Michala,

This is what I did. In my model of the human jaw I force the condyles of the TMJ to be in contact with the fossa. In this way I end up with a mandible with 4 DoF.

For driving the model I used one marker at the frontal incisors.
Moreover I drive the sideways movement of the condyle to be zero. In
this way I end up with kinematic determinant system.

It is best to use the newest repository. However, I do not think that in the mandible case, there is a big difference.

Greetings, Mark

Hi,